Are you looking forward to getting your boating license? Then it is important to have a clear understanding of the steps that you should follow. To make your life easy, we will walk you through the exact steps that you must follow to get the boating license. Make sure that you adhere to these tips and end up with getting your boating license.
State Boating Laws and Licenses
Your marine dealer may be able to provide you with information on how to obtain a boating license in the state if you purchase a new boat but are a first-time boat owner. The National Association of Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA), which has a website with the basic training needs for each state, is an excellent resource for state-by-state information. Each state’s boating education requirements may be found on a website, generally in a section dealing with transportation and natural resources.
Obtaining a Boating License
Most states’ online boat education or licensing course is handled by a third party, and there could be a course charge of $29 to $50, which is normally paid after you’ve finished the course satisfactorily. A price for administrative services may be imposed by the state. For 35 states, the Boat US Foundation provides free boating licensing classes.
The online class is divided into parts or chapters and should take around three hours to finish. You don’t have to finish the full course in one sitting; you may log out after finishing a chapter of two and return later to where you left off. The course is set up in such a way that you can’t just skip through the study portions to get it to the test. Before you may continue on to the next course, you must complete and pass a review test after each unit.
These courses are not intended to be difficult to complete; rather, they are intended to improve awareness by providing knowledge on all aspects of boating. Boating concepts and vocabulary, navigation regulations, state boating laws, how to manage boating emergencies, as well as how to appreciate watersports will all be covered in this course. You may still opt to rent if you don’t want to obtain a license.
Requirements for Boating Education
The standards for boating education vary greatly from state to state. If you are at least 16 years old and were born on or after January 1, 1989, and want to operate a motorboat or personal watercraft in Wisconsin, you must have a Wisconsin Boating Safety Education Certificate. In Oklahoma, a boating instruction certificate is only necessary if you are 13 – 15 years old but will be driving a boat or PWC with more than 10 horsepower or a sailboat 16 feet or longer.
The age of boating license for individuals under the age of 16 to 18 is likewise regulated by each state. Some states accept a boating license granted by some other state, but that is the boat owner’s obligation to be aware of the boating licensing requirements of the state in which the boat is being operated.
Adhere to these tips and get your boating license. You will surely fall in love with the rewards that a boating license can offer on your way.